About the Mother of the Nation

Sheikha Fatima Bint Mubarak is the wife of the late Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the founding father of the United Arab Emirates. She has been a pioneer in supporting the efforts exerted towards women’s empowerment and rights.

An ardent supporter and upholder of women empowerment, Sheikha Fatima believes that the empowerment of women is vital to the advancement of society. She has therefore always pursued the causes of women locally, regionally and internationally.

Ever since the Union was announced, she has always participated with the Late Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan in encouraging the UAE’s women to pursue education and work opportunities. This approach embraced by the political leadership of the State has vastly contributed to the status of UAE female citizens today across all fields of practice.

Her exceptional and unprecedented vision, wisdom and initiatives have always been geared towards supporting Emirati women and providing them equal opportunities with their male peers.

Sheikha Fatima has held various important positions in a number of committees and institutions concerned with women and children’s affairs. Regionally and internationally, she has also chaired several organisations and institutions such as the Arab Women’s Organisation and the Regional Coordination Committee for Women’s Work in the GCC.

These efforts culminated in more than 500 awards and honours for Sheikha Fatima’s outstanding dedication, thirty of which were bestowed by the UN.

For more information, visit www.motherofthenation.ae

نبذة عن أم الإمارات

سمو الشيخة فاطمة بنت مبارك قرينة مؤسس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة المغفور له الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان طيب الله ثراه. وتعد سموها رائدة العمل النسائي في دولة الإمارات وداعمة لحقوق المرأة والنهوض بمكانتها.

اهتمت الشيخة فاطمة بالمرأة وتمكين دورها في النهوض بالمجتمع وحرصت على متابعة شأن المرأة على المستوى المحلي والإقليمي والدولي.

تعد سمو الشيخة فاطمة بنت مبارك سيدة استثنائية لما تمتلكه من رؤية وحكمة ومبادرات رائدة حيث بدأت ومنذ قيام الاتحاد مع مؤسس الدولة المغفور له الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان في تشجيع المرأة على التعليم، والإلتحاق بالعمل، حيث كان منهجاً يومياً وعملياً ساعد القيادة السياسية في دولة الإمارات على تحقيق المنجزات التي تمتعت بها المرأة على كافة الأصعدة.

وتقلدت سموها رئاسة عدد من اللجان والمؤسسات المعنية بشؤون المرأة والطفل والمنظمات والمؤسسات على المستوى المحلي والإقليمي والدولي.

كما أن جهودها المتواصلة من أجل تمكين المرأة سواء في مجال التعليم أو المشاركة الإقتصادية أو المشاركة السياسة ساهمت في تحقيق الإستقرار للأسرة والمجتمع، بالإضافة إلى جهودها الإنسانية التي قدمتها للمرأة والطفل على مستوى العالم من أجل أن تتمكن المرأة من تحقيق أهدافها كأم وشريك أساسي في تحقيق التنمية والإستقرار والسلم لمجتمعها.

إن هذه الجهود المتواصلة جعلت منها شخصية تستحق التقدير والتكريم إذ نالت سموها ما يزيد عن (500) جائزة وشهادات تقدير، وقد قلدتها هيئات ومنظمات الأمم المتحدة نحو (30) جائزة ووسام.

لمزيد من العلومات www.motherofthenation.ae